Why would I foster a shelter dog?


Why would I foster a shelter dog?

Jax learning to respond to a kiss-kiss noise (since most people can make this sound it's easy to use as a positive interuptor).
Jax learning to respond to a kiss-kiss noise (since most people can make this sound it’s easy to use as a positive interrupter).

It’s a hassle, it disrupts the household, it takes time and they’re usually unruly. I’m giving away my expertise for free.

They need it.

They bark, they chew, they make messes, they come from checkered pasts. They expect bad behavior from people and worry. They’re fearful or overly assertive. I’m more likely contacted for the loud and rowdy ones, who are fearful underneath.

They need it.

They jump up, leave bruises, pull on leashes, rush doorways and are careless with their teeth. They don’t know; how to accept grooming, how to greet people, how to come when called, how to play well …

They need it.

Whoever adopts them has no clue what the difference was.

The new owners may propagate the same old bad behaviors all over again. But maybe not.

They need it. Maybe it’s the difference in their lives.

I get to know them. Get my patience stretched, use all my many strategies to get them to make good choices. Then they start to be like my dog – a dog that knows good things and that I would like and then it’s time for them to go.

Hmm.

LIKE and Go ahead and comment ... Tell me about your dog training...

