Lost dogs, lost family


I saw an old black dog in their yard,

Knowledgeable of the world,

Kids played, he stayed,

A new black/white pup was added,

But then he and pup were gone.

I saw you playing alone in their yard,

I saw you playing in the road,

I took you back home,

I saw you, I saw you, but then you were gone.

Now there were two, neither of them looked like you,

I saw them playing in the yard,

Odd wireless confined play,

I saw them playing in the road,

I saw them, I saw them, but then they were gone.

Teary eyed youth, I heard ask,

Had I seen them, had they passed by?

But they were gone.

 

I feel very sorry for the family. I feel very sorry for the dogs. This is inspired by their very recent disappearance, but as a kid on the school bus there was a family on the route that often had a new pup, but never an old dog.

Wireless or real fences or leashed/lines are management tools and if that’s all that’s keeping the dog confined, close and catch-able a management failure is almost unavoidable. The dog (and I learned that the old dog was a rescue and always stayed close, until the addition of a younger pup, then gone) needs to have a good reason (think fun, positive, rewarding) to stay close, to come when called otherwise why not go break out and find better fun and more interesting smells.

Fences and wireless manage, they don't really train and they can be foiled.
Fences and wireless manage, they don’t really train and they can be foiled.

I went outside with my guys and we played recall games with whistles today (otherwise I use voice or hand signal…I want it all). I want joyous, speedy and immediate and so I practice with great rewards for excellent returns. This is such an important thing that I usually spend brief fun sessions working on it specifically at least once monthly, and my guys aren’t young anymore (Max 10+ and Jazzie almost five).

 

Are you running after your dog instead of him running to you? Hope not.

LIKE and Go ahead and comment ... Tell me about your dog training...

