Pulling things – any size dog can learn to pull


 

Started with an empty sled and then added a bit of weight to the sled (20#).
Started with an empty sled and then added a bit of weight to the sled (20#).
Jazz was pulling it comfortably, so I added some flung dog food piece by piece.
Jazz was pulling it comfortably, so I added some flung dog food piece by piece.
Starting to have her go away, with me behind.
Starting to have her go away, with me behind.

If you’ve got snow you might as well have fun in it. And your dog might as well try new things.

I hadn’t really thought of training Jazz (my heeler) to pull stuff, but I spotted one of our old, but good sledding harnesses and it fit (a little long, but not bad). She was happy to put it on and not worried about the kiddie sled, so then I added a bit of resistance.

Then Denver, the other heeler wanted in on the fun. Time out to give her something else to do. I thought about having her as weight on the sled, but she only wanted to jump over it and then get in the traffic pattern.

No  problem, with Denver out of the picture I sent Jazz around me and then away from me. As long as things were working well, I stopped, we had our 5 minutes in.

Next lesson, I’ll put on my x country skis and she can see how they work. Pretty soon skijoring.

 

LIKE and Go ahead and comment ... Tell me about your dog training...

